PRIVILEGES AND PROCEDURES COMMITTEE

(27th Meeting)

12th April 2013

PART A

All members were present.

Connétable A.S. Crowcroft of St. Helier, Chairman Senator S.C. Ferguson Senator Sir P.M. Bailhache Connétable L. Norman of St. Clement Deputy J.A. Martin Deputy M. Tadier Deputy K.L. Moore

In attendance -

M.N. de la Haye, Greffier of the StatesA.H. Harris, Deputy Greffier of the StatesI. Clarkson, Clerk to the Privileges and Procedures Committee

Note: The Minutes of this meeting comprise Part A only.

Referendum on States Reform: Minimum Turnout Threshold' (P.39/2013). 1240/22/1/10 (10) A1. The Committee, with reference to its Minute No. A2 of 14th March 2013, recalled having endorsed a voter registration and turnout campaign proposal in respect of the forthcoming referendum on reform of the States Assembly.

The Committee considered the report and proposition entitled: 'Referendum on States Reform: Minimum Turnout Threshold' (P.39/2013 refers), which had been lodged '*au Greffe*' by Deputy J.M. Maçon of St. Saviour. It further considered an amendment to P.39/2013 that had been lodged subsequently by Connétable P.J. Rondel of St. John.

The Committee, having noted that the principal proposition and the amendment sought to apply a turnout threshold of 40 per cent and 50 per cent respectively, considered what would, in practice, be achieved by having a such a threshold given–

- (a) that the referendum outcome would not bind the Assembly, and
- (b) that Standing Order 89A had already set a higher bar for constitutional reform by requiring that a proposition to alter, in any way, the membership of the States of Jersey must be adopted by an absolute majority of Members (rather than a majority of those present for the debate) in order to succeed.

The Committee **agreed** to present to the States a comment on P.39/2013 confirming its opposition to both the principal proposition and the amendment. In this regard, it delegated to the Chairman the authority to approve a suitable comment on the Committee's behalf.

The Committee Clerk was authorised to take the necessary action.